Photos from the AMNH

21 07 2007

Today my wife and I headed into New York and had an overall more enjoyable day at the AMNH than our last visit in February. We mostly chalked up the lower attendance to people being at home reading the new Harry Potter. Before continuing though, I have to say that I probably will not being visting the museum as much as I have in past years; prices for everything involved a trip are going up, so much so that it has become probhibitively expensive. $40 for train tickets, $55 for museum admission (museum + special exhibit + 2 IMAX films), a few extra bucks for subway fare, and a few dollars at Penn Station for a meal (we didn’t have enough foodstuffs at home to make a sandwhich), and overall I spent over $100 for the two of us to go to the museum. Granted, we could have skipped out on the special collection, the IMAX films, and paid $10 to get in (being that the admission prices are only “suggested”), but as much as I love the museum I don’t love it enough to spend over $100 on a day trip there every other month or so.

Enough with the rant, on to the pictures!

Pigeon

Sitting over the main entrance doors at the front of the museum was a group of pigeons, this one apparently taking pride in standing on an eagle’s head. I just found it funny to see what was probably intended to be a finely sculpted example of one of our national symbols being roosted and crapped upon by an even more “American” bird, the “Super Pigeon.”

Barosaurus

Allosaurus

Upon entering the Grand Rotunda one can’t miss a rearing Barosaurus protecting its baby from an Allosaurus, although I’m still pretty doubtful as to whether such a scene ever actually occurred (it’s as if the sauropod is saying “Here’s my underbelly, why don’t you slash it?” to the carnosaur). It’s still impressive, nonetheless.

Allosaurus

While the Allosaurus threatening the Barosaurus has the proper posture, however, not all the museum’s depictions of the dinosaur have been renovated. This model, on a dinosaur phylogenetic tree, makes me think “Halp! Sum1 haz broken my tail! I can has update?”

Orang

My wife and I did get to actually enjoy the recently renovated Human Origins hall this time however, and while at first I thought the super-bright flash of my camera ruined the picture, I thought the above photo of an orangutan skeleton at the exhibit’s entrance was pretty neat all the same.

Proconsul

The flash had a similar effect on the above skull of the ancient primate Proconsul.

Skulls

Unfortunately the lighting of the exhibit was not condusive to photography, but that’s me with some skulls of ancient “family.”

Lucy

And that’s my wife with a replica of “Lucy.”

Reindeer

I was also very impressed by this ancient piece of artwork, originally drawn on an antler (here shown unrolled) 16-13 thousand years ago, found in Lortet, France.

Potto

While not in the Human Origins hall, this skeleton of a loris also proved to be an interesting subject (although the focus was on the shoulder, not the skull like I wanted).

Me

Moving on to the Hall of Ornithiscian Dinosaurs, my wife snapped this one of me in front of the famous Sternberg hadrosaur “mummy.”

Tylosaurus

And here’s another next to one of Sternberg’s other famous finds, a Tylosaurus.

Stego

My wife wanted one of her in front of a Stegosaurus (armored dinosaurs appeal to her much more than others).

Deinonychus

It’s a little blurry, but this head-on view of Deinonychus came out alright as well.

Croc

I also came across a fossil I had never seen before; a well-preserved skeleton of Protosuchus from the Late Triassic of Arizona.

Thylacosmilus

I also made sure to check in on some of my favorite mammal fossils. The above skull is of the marsupial saber-toothed predator Thylacosmilus.

Leo

I must have not been paying attention during my earlier visits, as this time I also came across the skull of the marsupial “lion” Thylacoleo.

Saber

I also came across the above skull in the Human Origins hall, although I cannot recall to what genus this cat (it was a true saber-tooth cat) belonged. [Update: After a little bit of comparison, I believe that this is the skull of Megantereon, although I could still be wrong.]

Sloth

I was also impressed by the claws that the giant sloth Megalonyx wheatleyi bore on its forearms.

Charlotte

And what would a picture post be without a shot of my cats doing something cute? Here’s Charlotte, cured up to Song of the Dodo. Where her interest in biogeography came from, I don’t know.

As for the Dinosaurs Alive IMAX film and the Mythical Creatures Exhibit, they were both “ok” but not especially thrilling. What was most curious about the IMAX film is that it has footage of the grad students who just published the Science paper working in New Mexico, with a few shots of their new fossil. Kevin Padian can clearly be seen in one shot, although for some reason he’s never introduced in the film.

The Mythical Creatures exhibit had some interesting artifacts, but there was no photography allowed (the security guards were very vehement about this) and there was a museum tour guide with the most nasal, grating voice I’ve heard in a while explaining different points of the exhibits. Barring these unfortunate circumstances, it will probably appeal to those who are unfamiliar with some of the scientific background of popular myths, but for those already familiar with dragons, mermaids, and the Kraken, it’s not especially exciting.

Overall, though, it was a good day at the museum. I wish that I could visit on a really slow day, even have the museum to myself for a day (or night) to peruse and study at my leisure, but I don’t think that’s ever going to happen. Still, every time I go back I notice something new or can apply some new bit of knowledge I’ve acquired to the fossils I see, and it’ll always be one of my most favorite places.


Actions

Information

12 responses

21 07 2007
Neil

Awesome shots Brian! I can definitely sympathize with the flash woes, I took lots of shots the last time I was there and only two or three really came out. You had much better luck than I!

That Saber-tooth looks like good old Smilodon fatalis, the CA state fossil, minus most of a zygomatic arch. Someone else will probably be better able to confirm.

21 07 2007
laelaps

Thanks Neil; now that I think about it, it was definitely an “M” name and it was from Africa (around the time/place of Homo ergaster), so I’m thinking it’s either Machairodus or Megantereon, although I’m learning towards Megantereon because it looks much closer to this image, the cat having a relatively large nasal cavity like the one in the photos (the Smilodon I saw later in the day had a more round and smaller nasal cavity)

22 07 2007
Neil

Brilliant! I can certainly see the Megantereon resemblance. I suppose you’ll just have to shell out another c-note to double check.

22 07 2007
laelaps

Thanks Neil; I’ll be sure to bring a notebook next time. I usually photograph the panels that explain the fossils so I have a little index of animals I don’t know, but I forgot to do that for this one. I’m sure I’ll be back in the near future (I’ll probably go alone on a weekday and skip the extra features), but until then I’m comfy settling for Megantereon

22 07 2007
Chris Harrison

These are very cool shots Brian. Your shirt is hilarious, by the way, and it goes perfectly with your pose in front of the human family tree.

22 07 2007
laelaps

Thanks Chris! That shirt is actually my favorite (I got it from CafePress, if you want to get one yourself), and I took a few more in front of hominid fossils. Unfortunately things were a little too crowded to get the pictures like I wanted (I also brought along a copy of Darwin’s Descent of Man which I was going to “read” in front of an exhibit), but maybe next time…

22 07 2007
Zach Miller

I’m so very jealous! I didn’t even realize there was a marsupial lion–too cool!

25 10 2007
Miranda

Just wondering how you know Kevin Padian…

31 10 2010
Jones

�� ���� eys

13 08 2011
football live scores

I Just added this post to my blog and I will surely be coming back again. Great

14 08 2011
Jobs in London

Yes, I quiet agree with you .good post and I will definately come back to read more of your article. I have also just subcribed to your articles

31 03 2021
ullu movies

may be a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your feed and look ahead to looking for more of your magnifice now. You’re very intelligent.

Leave a comment