If I had known I would have baked a cake….

31 08 2007

Blog Day 2007

Happy Blog Day everyone! This is the 3rd annual celebration, and in keeping with the wishes set forth by those who’ve spread the word, I’ve picked five blogs that I regularly read and think you should, too. I was quite surprised to have been chosen as one of the five over at A Blog Around the Clock (thanks Coturnix!), and I’m going to carry on the meme in quite the same way by picking 5 of my favorites instead of just 5 “new” blogs. Envelope please…

Catalogue of Organisms – Chris admittedly has “An inordinate fondness for systematics,” and a wide range of interests that would have made E.D. Cope and other earlier naturalists proud. His posts are always well documented and researched, and it’s hard not to learn something new on any given visit. Plus, he was nice enough to tag me with the Thinking Blogger Award for a second time, so this is my way of saying “Thanks!”

Clastic Detritus – Brian is another good friend of mine who, in addition to just acquiring a spiffy new title and moving to wordpress, is the father of the new earth sciences blog carnival The Accretionary Wedge. He is far more well-versed in geology than I could ever hope to be, and I am glad that he is helping to lead the charge to get geo-bloggers more involved on the web.

Prehistoric Pulp – Walt reads ’em so you don’t have to, or rather, Walt reads ’em so you know which ones actually are pretty good so you know where to turn when you’re in the mood for some good paleo-fiction. Walt’s knowledge of the monsters (real and imagined) lurking in the pages of recent literature is encyclopedic, and his is a wonderful and well-written resource.

Thoughts in a Haystack – And I thought I spent a lot of time trying to understand the history of science. I have only recently discovered John’s blog, but it is an absolute treat to read and his writing is brimming with careful research, measured opinion, and an excellent sense of humor. If you’re not reading Thoughts in a Haystack yet, you darn well should be.

The Ethical Paleontologist – Where would I be without Julia? Outside of directing me to other people extremely helpful in my fields and interest and providing plenty of encouragement, Julia writes an excellent blog that ranges from her “Jurassic Garden” to songs about dinosaurs to her current journey to get her PhD. Her blog, simply put, is a must-read.

Also of note: My friend Zach’s blog When Pigs Fly Returns (if for no other reason that his excellent reconstruction of Arizonasaurus, and Pondering Pikaia, which was duly recommended by Coturnix and will likely be on many more lists.

So what are your five commendations for your readers? You can read all the “official rules” at the Blog Day website, but be sure to add a description as to why each of the blogs is so good. Go on, boost some egos and endorse good blogging wherever you may find it.

[Blog Day Technorati Tag]


Actions

Information

7 responses

31 08 2007
BrianR

thanks for the kind words….right back at ya here

31 08 2007
John Pieret

Blush.

You are too kind. I don’t put anywhere near the effort you obviously pour into your opuses.

31 08 2007
Zach Miller

I’m considering the move to ScienceBlogs, as my posts have been becoming less about my own cartooning and technology and more about paleo. Oh, my blog is only worth that Arizonasaurus picture? You wound me, sir! ;-D

31 08 2007
laelaps

Zach; I’m glad to see you pick up paleo more and more. And I didn’t say that your blog was only worth your picture; I said “If for no other reason”, as if my reader’s needed one to check out the work of my most prolific commentor. 😉

1 09 2007
Zach Miller

Oh I know. I’m just giving you a hard time! 😛

1 09 2007
Julia

Aww shucks… Thank you Brian!

Coming up, a review of SVPCA, but maybe not until Monday as I have been summoned to the grandparents-in-law tomorrow. Still trying to get myself together after we managed to close down the bars in Glasgow.

6 09 2007
DoubleW

Thanks for the honor. Sorry I missed it when you first posted — busy life. (My own updates are scrapped together whenever I can find a minute of two of free time). But it’s pretty cool to get mentioned.

Leave a comment