I’m still here, really.

2 10 2007

This is what happens when I get sucked in by new science stories… I started to write up something about sabercat bite forces and now it’s a copiously illustrated mega post. That, and I’ve still got my end-Cretaceous NJ post going, so while I did lots of work today I didn’t get anything finished. I’ll definitely have something tomorrow, however (which will it be?), but my day was a bit overbooked and I didn’t get to write as much as I would have liked. If I just focused on what was new this wouldn’t happen, but then again I wouldn’t be the blogger I am if I just did things the easy way.


Actions

Information

5 responses

3 10 2007
Zach Miller

Quit teasing me, man! Ah, you had me giddy about your potential Tyrannosaurus post, then at the edge of my seat about your sauropod post, and now you’re going to write about saber-tooth bite forces? AH! It’s like knowing that there’s a Godzilla move in Japan that you haven’t seen yet. BRING IT OVER TO AMERICA, SONY!

Probably…not…the best comparison.

3 10 2007
laelaps

Haha, I’m sorry Zach. The T. rex post and the sauropods post are taking longer because they require more background research than many other posts, so they’re slowly coming together (I just want to be accurate, is that so wrong?). Which Godzilla film are you talking about? I thought Final Wars was the last one (which came out on DVD a while ago), but maybe I missed something… If I did then I share you pain, but if I didn’t miss something then I should get to work on those posts as to prevent you from having a heart attack from frustration.

3 10 2007
Zach Miller

No, no. That was just a terrible comparison. I know you have awesome posts just sitting on your computer. Bring them over to WordPress, Japan! See? Yeah, it’s awful. Are you, like me, a Godzillaphile, sir? My life goal is to have every Godzilla movie on DVD, if possible both the American and Japanese versions. That’s why I’m liking these new Sony treatments, with both versions on one disk (so far they’re gotten through Godzilla vs. Monster Zero).

However, there ARE still Godzilla movies that have not made it to DVD in any form, among them Godzilla 1985 and Godzilla vs. Biolantte. There is also a new Gamera movie out in Japan that has yet to make it over here.

4 10 2007
laelaps

Indeed, Zach, I own all the Godzilla films on DVD (although they are admittedly copies of pre-existed DVDs and some TV-rips, too, so the quality isn’t always the best). I definitely want to start picking up the Sony re-issues, although my money has to go to rent and other “necessities” first for now😛. It’s funny you should bring up Godzilla 1985; that was one of the first ones I ever saw and was on TV all the time when I was a kid. That movie is just so different from all the others, but part of my enjoyment of it is the nostalgia factor. I’ve only recently seen G. v. Biollante as well but I was impressed with it. I actually favor the ’90’s Godzilla to the “Millenium” model, but I guess that’s just a matter of person taste. I actually forgot about Gamera: The Little Braves until you brought it up, too. I’m sure you can probably get it on eBay, but quality might be an issue.

4 10 2007
Zach Miller

Bah, I want them to bring it over here. 1985 was the first Godzilla movie I remember watching (I was probably 6), and I LOVED it. I still do. You’re right, it’s definately a lot different than the other movies, in part because of the somber tone and strong Cold War commentary, but also because of the horrifying camera work and pitiful American footage (everybody in America drinks Dr. Pepper!). Personally, my favorite ‘Zilla design was the Godzilla 2000 suit. It just made him look so baddass and dinosaurian. The 90’s Godzilla, to me, was a little too fat and mammalian, what with the canines, naked nose, and external ears.🙂

Leave a Reply

