A day at the fair Faire

17 09 2007

Here are some of the aforementioned shots from the NY Renaissance Festival in Tuxedo, NY.

Dish

When we pulled in to the lot, we saw this oddly creepy dish. The set up of the area suggested that it may have once served as a small airport, but my friends and I had no idea what the dilapidated structure was used for.

Turkey Leg

It wouldn’t be a day at the Renaissance Festival without a huge turkey leg. My friend Victor poses with a drumstick of the cooked dinosaur descendant.

Pillory
“All I said was the earth goes around the sun…” My friend Tim, to the right, was locked up for taking a few too many hits off his flagon of mead and making a spectacle of himself.

Nottingham

The loathsome Sheriff of Nottingham, victim of a vicious pie-fight.

Evil Witch

An evil witch takes control of a “pawn” during a rather unorthodox human chess game.

Robin Hood

Robin Hood strikes a pose.

Robin Hood fights the Sheriff

Me

Observing the joust from atop a rock, sporting my spiffy new Skulls Unlimited t-shirt.

Joust

Tim and the Wenches

Tim being fawned over by the Singing Wenches. Never have I heard so many bawdy rhymes (well, other than some of the hip hop blasting out of souped-up Honda Civics along College Ave.)

Sunset

Sunset, taken from the passenger seat of Victor’s car as we drove along the Pulaski Skyway just outside of Hoboken.

bea and charlotte

And for no reason, here are my cats Charlotte (the ‘lil black one) and Beatrice (the larger one, and she still needs a good home…).


Actions

Information

8 responses

17 09 2007
Chris Harrison

Oh the nerdiness of it all.

My dad was in love with the Renaissance Faire. I just liked the chicken on a stick.

18 09 2007
wolfwalker

I’ve always enjoyed Renaissance Festivals. Loads of fun, and entirely too many things worth buying.

Regarding your first photo: it looks like a radar dish out of the 1940s. Some websearches turned up nothing of use, but my best guess would be that it’s an old radar antenna, perhaps for an airfield or perhaps for the National Weather Service. NWS seems slightly more likely. Another possibility is that it’s a slightly-less-old radio-telescope antenna.

6 06 2010
Stephen Griswold

I’ve seen this at the site every year I’ve gone (even as far back as 1982). It seems a little over-bearing and fixed for radar.. a radio telescope would also need movement.. A close-up photo someone on Flickr took of the center element suggests it’s a transceiver. I climbed the stairway once, but never got near the building on the back of the dish. Next faire season (this fall) I’m gonna have to get more adventurous!

13 08 2013
Stephen Griswold

And, I knew I saw something about Alfred Loomis when I searched awhile back.. Look in the comments on Flicker, at this link http://www.flickr.com/photos/jeffs4653/3978400826/ , someone did find some info.

18 09 2007
laelaps

Chris; Indeed, ’twas very nerdy, and even though it was fun I don’t think I need to go back anytime soon.

Wolfwalker; Thank you for the comment and for the information about the dish. I had never seen one quite like that, and I was hoping someone would come along who knew more about it than me. Thanks!

20 09 2007
Victor Pinho

Huzzah!!!

Beautiful pics, my friend. Can’t wait to see the entire catalogue.

Cheers!

Vic

8 02 2008
Earl Voss

Hi There,
I just found your photo of the dish and have wondered about it for years, as I’ve visited almost every RF since it began. I was told that the parking lot on which this sits used to be an old WWII airfield.

I also postualted that this dish could be related to the efforts of Mr. Alfred Loomis, a very wealthy man, who, in the 1930’s became a patron of many famous scientists who came to do research in a lab, furnished by Mr. Loomis, in the very wealthy suburb of Tuxedo Park. Among other things, they worked on radar back in the 1930’s.

This dish certainly looks like it could date to back then; the tower on which the dish sits does not allow for swiveling of the dish – it sits stationary, which indicates, to me at elast, that it was a fixed-receiver antenna (perhaps a trnasmitter). The dish itself is not parabolc; it’s more spherical – like a coconut cut in half. The element is a long solid metallic needle, which is a very antiquated design.

So, those are my 2 leads; I have just today rec’d a phone number of someone who lives in Tuxedo Park and who might know the dish’s origin.

I doubt it was an old weather satellite as it can’t move; I’m thinking missile control or radar experimentation.

Best Regards,
Earl
W2EDV

29 04 2010
balls

your all fags

Leave a Reply

