Work, work, work…

10 08 2007

Sorry updates are a bit lacking today folks; it’ll be worth it when I get my piece on the new Nature paper and ideas about human evolution finished this evening. In the meantime, go check out the blog of another Brian, …Or Something. He’s introduced me to one of the most interesting things I’ve seen on the web in a while, a visual way to look at amazon.com’s book catalog. Even if the books you’re looking for don’t come up, it’s still fun to watch (almost like a fish tank…). Likewise, be sure to check out an exclusive preview of the new comic Neozoic over at Prehistoric Pulp, another wonderful blog that is new to me.

Oh yes, and in case you’ve missed it, Carl Zimmer has been collecting images of science tattoos. I would probably have one, only I would have no idea what to get. Still, I guess I’ll put the question out there to my readers, as well; if you were to get a science tattoo, what would it be of?

Update: This is a fairly good representation of my attitude when I’m blogging. You can talk to me, but you’re probably not going to get much more than an “uh-huh.” My wife also knows that the phrase “I’m just going on to write something real quick” is a complete misrepresentation of the time I’m going to spend on any given post.


Actions

Information

14 responses

10 08 2007
Brian

“My wife also knows that the phrase “I’m just going on to write something real quick” is a complete misrepresentation of the time I’m going to spend on any given post.”

Ain’t that da truth!

thanks for the linkage🙂

If you like amaznode, you and your readers might like this too:
http://bromans.blogspot.com/2007/05/visualizing-complex-networks.html

10 08 2007
Zach Miller

Totally off-topic, Brian, but I’m marked my calendar for the 1st of Sept. as my Boneyard day. It shall be glorious!

10 08 2007
laelaps

Thanks Zach. I am certainly looking forward to it (and don’t forget that paleo art for next week’s edition!)

10 08 2007
Zach Miller

Oh, I know. I’m the kind of artist who throws a nearly completed drawing out when I notice that, say, the anatomy of Gigantoraptor’s thigh seems off, so it takes me awhile. I might not have any more than five pictures up posting time.😦

10 08 2007
laelaps

No worries Zach; I’ll be happy to see whatever you manage to get up there. I might try my hand at some drawings, although you’ll have to promise not to laugh. The last time I did an extensive dino drawing it was when I was in Middle School and my dad was driving me to a library to see Peter Dodson give a talk, so I drew him a slew of dinosaur pictures. As bad as those were, I’m sure my skills have not improved with time, hah.

10 08 2007
Zach Miller

Peter Dodson? Awesome!

10 08 2007
laelaps

Believe it or not Zach, I actually have an article on Avaceratops from Highlights magazine signed by Dr. Dodson; he was like a celebrity to me at the time. I was actually reading it before the talk and he came up behind me and said “Hey, I think I know that guy.” I should probably get in touch with him and tell him that that little fan-boy has actually followed through with paleo (at least to an extent, anyway).

10 08 2007
Zach Miller

That’s so awesome. My only two claims to paleo fame are seeing Jack Horner give a talk up here (I didn’t like him) and seeing and meeting Pete Larson, who is just the nicest guy in the world.

10 08 2007
Julia

Peter was very supportive to me immediately post-St Louis. If you ever make it to SVP I’ll be delighted to re-introduce you. He gave a fantastic talk in Arizona about dealing with creationists – I’ll dig out the abstract for you.

I keep contemplating a tattoo. A while ago I was all for having the classic Camarasaurus skull at the base of my back. But I know Paul isn’t particularly taken with big tattoos like that, and now we’re married he gets to have a say. He would be okay with my alternative, which is to get a small line drawing of a sauropod trackway on my foot (the Day et al 2002 narrow-gauge trackway from the Ardley quarry in Oxfordshire, specifically!).

10 08 2007
Julia

And Pete Larson is lovely – I agree, Zach. I was lucky enough to spend two days working on one of the BHIGR’s digs back in 2002. I took Paul back to Hill City on honeymoon. Pete wasn’t there, but Neil, his brother, remembered me, and took us on the grand tour behind the scenes.

Paul will tell you his own story about Jack Horner…

10 08 2007
Paul

I had dinner with Jack Horner.

He asked me what I did (since I was the only person at the table not talking on the subject of dinosaurs).

I said I was a lawyer (true, at the time – I’m not any more…)

He fixed me in the eye and said “I hate lawyers. Dinosaurs eat lawyers.”

So that’s my palaeo claim to fame.

Oh, and being married to Julia.

10 08 2007
Neil

I’ve got Marella splendens on my upper right shoulder along with a Cambrian ‘C’ which everyone thinks is Euro symbol. It was to be the start of an entire Paleozoic sleeve that I have yet to get around to…maybe I’ll just skip to the Triassic and get a Thallatosaur skull next.

11 08 2007
DoubleW

OK… That cat site is addictive. I stumbled across it a few days ago and have been checking it out every day. My boss caught me browsing it at work. It’s a bit embarrassing for a grown man to explain why he was looking at pictures of kittens…

Anyway, I have no tattoos of my own, but I long ago decided that if I get one, I wanted it to be the skull of a saber-tooth cat. Why? I like saber-tooths, and yeah, simply because of the “coolness” factor — make me look tough, impress the ladies, etc.

11 08 2007
Cory Tucholski

Back on topic, my wife knows that when I say “I’m just going to check something real quick on the computer” that it really means “See you tomorrow, honey.” Maybe there’s a support group somewhere for bloggers’ wives. 🙂

Leave a Reply

