Stop sending me stuff!

25 07 2007

Rarely a day goes by that I don’t receive a letter from the National Wildlife Federation, Defenders of Wildlife, World Wildlife Fund, Nature Conservancy, the Audubon Society or other organization that I have donated money to in the past. Last year I sent in $20 bucks here and there, nothing terribly substantial, but since then I’ve been inundated with paper. It’s always odd to get mail from a group claiming that they want to protect wildlife, but they sent inordinate amounts of glossy, non-recycled (as far as I can tell) paper to try and get me to send them more money (especially in return for a backback that falls apart after a month, a low-quality fleece blanket, or other novelty item). At this point I have so many address labels that even if I sent a letter a day I wouldn’t even make a dent in the pile.

What amuses me most, however, are the packages containing greeting cards or a calendar. I don’t have much use for the cards, but the calendars aren’t bad, but after about a week I always get another letter saying “We hope you’re enjoying your calendar. Now pay us for it.” They’re not actually that direct, mind you, but I hate all the ways these groups try to guilt me into making more donations when I simply don’t have the money to do so. I’m even more annoyed that so much paper is wasted trying to bring in more money and that the paper isn’t even recycled. Shows how much they care, huh?


Actions

Information

5 responses

25 07 2007
utenzi

You’re quite right about that, Brian. They’re willing to collect money by almost any means necessary. Green? Ha!

26 07 2007
Aydin

The main reason why I never renewed my membership with the Nature Conservancy was that I had gotten tired of their solicitations for donations. I thought that if I didn’t renew they’d leave me alone. That was some naive thinking! It’s been about 7 years now & they still pester me to donate.

26 07 2007
laelaps

Thanks Utenzi and Aydin. Maybe there should be more of a push to get these groups to at least switch to materials that have less of an environmental impact, as well as encouraging everyone receiving extraneous mail to contact the groups and tell them to take them off their lists and to reduce the paper waste they’re creating.

26 07 2007
JRP

Laelaps is right. Contact the groups to reduce or stop unwanted solicitations. It is not easy for non-profit groups to find and keep donors, which are critical to funding their critical work. Most groups are working hard to make better use of e-mail and Web-based giving opportunities. No organization wants to spend money unnecessarily or use any more paper than they have to find people willing to contribute.

Here’s the info from The Nature Conservancy (from their Web site) on how to reduce or eliminate direct mail solicitations (here:

“If you are a member and you would like to receive less mail, we will be happy to tailor your membership to your wishes. We can:

Add you to an email renewal list (spam-free);
Limit your renewal notices to 1 or 0 per year;
Limit your extra appeals to 1 or 0 per year;
Stop all solicitations and just send the magazine;
Stop all mail and add you to our email renewals list;
Stop all mail.
Just let us know which works best for you, and we will take care of it right away. You can call our Member Care Center at 1(800) 628-6860, or email us from the support site.

If you would like to be contacted by email only, just let us know, and check out our Great Places Network to keep in touch online.”

2 08 2007
Greeting Cards

An increasing problem for consumers from Businesses & Charities alike, I definately think there should be more legislation in place to prevent it.

Leave a Reply

