“I’m obnoxious and disliked, you know that sir”

18 07 2007

Matt, of Behavioral Ecology Blog fame, tagged me with a rather disturbing personality test… the author of it probably thought he was being cute, but ended up just giving me the creeps. That doesn’t mean that the result wasn’t on the money, though;

You are 100% Rational, 57% Extroverted, 28% Brutal, and 28% Arrogant.

You are the Hand-Raiser, that annoying kid in class who always had an
answer for everything. No doubt, as a child you probably sat in the
front of the class, anxiously waving your hand back and forth in the
air while your teacher desperately tried to avoid calling on you
because you were the ONLY fucking kid that answered her questions.
Clearly, the key traits of your personality are your rationality and
your extroversion. You are like a little talkative calculator, in other
words. You also tend to be rather gentle and less arrogant than most
people. Your presence is a bane to everyone’s existence, because you
are too nice for your own good and you absolutely will not shut up. So
what is your defect, then? Well, you’re boring, and when you’re not
boring, you are just plain annoying with your ultra-logical responses
and constant need to talk to others. So keep waving that hand in the
air, son. I’m still not calling on you. You are too logical, you talk
too much, and your humility and gentleness only makes me hate you more,
because they make me feel like I almost SHOULDN’T hate you. But I do.
Big time. And by the way, the more you wave your hand in class–your
extended hand becoming nothing more than a blur as you insanely wave
it, thinking we can’t see it–the more smug satisfaction the teacher
takes in watching the look of excrutiating pain cross your face as you
agonize over not being called on, and the longer we’ll wait to call on
you, just because we absolutely love torturing you so.

Link: The Personality Defect Test written by saint_gasoline on OkCupid Free Online Dating, home of the The Dating Persona Test

In fact, I went one better than the hand-raiser; I gave a lecture on intelligent design/creationism last fall because I knew more about it than my professor did. I know my classmates hated it, as well as when the professor would refer to me when she wasn’t sure about something, but I liked the bit of recognition I got. I am a bit of a hand-raiser variant though; I don’t usually answer questions, I usually correct the teacher or offer some other insight. This is even worse than just being a regular know-it-all, so most of the time I just keep my mouth shut rather than appearing like an intellectual snob. Despite what my fellow students may think of me, though, things have paid off. Talking to my paleontology professor after class last fall definitely opened up some opportunities for me I wouldn’t otherwise have, so if I see a new Nature paper that’s of interest to the professor of a class I’m taking, I’ll bring it in if for no other reason to let them know I’m interested and paying attention.


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

