Photos from Cape May, NJ

15 07 2007

Sunrise

Yesterday, my wife and I left at 3 AM to arrive at the most southern point/beach in New Jersey, arriving just after the sun began to rise.

Sunrise

And here is my lovely wife in the early morning light;

Tracey

We also encountered some local wildlife before even setting foot on the beach or pathways along the dunes. Many birds rested in their large birdhouses, and a small toad sat on the bench outside the restrooms;

Birdhouse

Lighthouse

Toad

Once we set foot on the beach, there were already plenty of Laughing Gulls skittering about on the sand and trying to snatch some bait from early-bird fishermen;

Laughing Gull

Tracey and I also noted a strange blob bobbing about in the surf. It turned out to be a dead jellyfish;

Jellyfish

We saw many more of the decomposing cnidarians on the beach that morning;

Jellyfish

After taking a little snooze on the beach, we took a short walk on a path behind the dunes, watching an immature Great Blue Heron and an egret try to catch their breakfast;

Egret

Heron

Small rabbits also abounded along the shore, and we saw many over the course of the day;

Rabbit

Being that it was too early to head over to the docks for our whale watching tour, we stopped by the Nature Conservancy migratory bird refuge. While most of the birds were too far away or simply not present during our visit, I did spot a number of Red-Winged Blackbirds, and this particular fellow was especially robust and colorful;

RWBB

This bright flower also caught our eye;

Flower

By the time was had walked the trail it was time for our cruise, although nothing much happened for the first hour or so (outside of being followed by some laughing gulls);

Laughing Gull

The whole trip did not turn out to be a wash, however, as we came across a rather large pod of Bottlenose Dolphins (15-20 individuals) feeding close to shore, right in front of one of John Wyland’s famous “Whaling Walls” (depicting a Humpback Whale, amongst other marine life);

Dolphins

Dolphins

After the overall mediocre cruise and stopping for lunch, we headed to the Cape May Zoo, where I finally got to see some live Pronghorns (previously the only ones I had seen were the stuffed ones at the AMNH);

Pronghorn

Pronghorn

And, of course, no zoo trip would be complete without seeing a Muntjac;

Muntjac

untjac

While I had seen Capybara in zoos before, I at long last got to see one swimming, as well;

Capybara

Capybara

As would be expected, the American Alligators were also cooling off in the water, albeit in a more stagnant pool;

Alligator

The weather was rather hot, so the big cats (lion, cheetah, tiger) mostly stayed out of the sun (and therefore impossible to photograph). I did manage to get a few shots of the leopard and ocelot, however;

Leopard

Ocelot

The animals in the African plains enclosures were a bit more active, however, including the Reticulated Giraffes and Grey’s Zebra (previously I had only seen Grevy’s Zebras);

Giraffe

Zebra

While not as exotic, the raccoons and swift fox the zoo kept provided me with some decent shots as well;

Raccoon

Swift Fox

Before leaving, we also stopped into the “World of Birds,” where I encountered this strange species with yellow waddles (and showed no fear or concern that I was photographing it from so close a range);

Bird

Bird

Not long afterwards, we ate our dinner and headed for home, overall being a good day in Cape May. I also wanted to include this picture of a deer I got a few weeks ago in Pennington, NJ, where I was petsitting;

Deer


Actions

Information

11 responses

16 07 2007
Jeremy

Beautiful pics as usual, Brian. Happy Anniversary, and Capybaras Rule.

16 07 2007
laelaps

Thanks Jeremy! I’ll have to write up something about capybaras in the future; they definitely don’t get as much attention as they should.

17 09 2007
Susan Crawford

Stumbled upon your site looking for bird images. You and your wife seem to visit the same places my husband and I do. That Animal Kingdom Zoo could use some enrichment activities for the animals.
Your comments on the rooks using cigarette butts was very interesting. I have read that ravens will lure cougars to people for an easy meal much like honey guide birds do with honey badgers.
I do have a question. What kind of camera did you use to get all of those wonderful shots?

Thank you,
Susan Crawford

8 11 2007
Mandi

i love your photos

15 08 2011
domain adresse kaufen

Ganz tolles Blog! Weiter so, ich schaue sicher öfter bei Dir vorbei.

30 07 2013
Pools

certainly like your web-site but you have to check the spelling on quite
a few of your posts. Many of them are rife with spelling issues and I to find it very troublesome to tell
the truth then again I’ll surely come again again.

31 07 2013
Lady sklepowe

Pretty part of content. I simply stumbled upon your website and in accession capital to claim that I acquire actually enjoyed account your blog posts.
Anyway I will be subscribing to your augment and
even I success you get entry to persistently fast.

31 07 2013
Schwimmbecken kaufen

What’s Going down i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this I have
discovered It absolutely useful and it has aided me out loads.
I hope to contribute & help other customers like its aided me.
Good job.

31 07 2013
Zadaszenia basenów

Hi to every one, the contents present at this web site are actually amazing for people
experience, well, keep up the good work fellows.

6 08 2013
Poolüberdachung

Greetings I am so delighted I found your blog, I really
found you by accident, while I was researching on Askjeeve
for something else, Regardless I am here now and would just like to
say cheers for a tremendous post and a all round
interesting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read through it all at the moment but I have book-marked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the superb work.

14 09 2013
Mieszkania Bydgoszcz

You can crrtainly see your skills within the wordk
you write. The arena hopes for even more passionate writers like
you who aren’t afraid to say how they believe. At all times follow your heart.

Leave a Reply

