Tonks is definitely my fave new character…

13 07 2007

Given the excitement surrounding the release of the new Harry Potter film Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix and the last book in the series, Grrlscientist has asked “where were you when you saw all the other HP films for the first time?”

I have to admit that I haven’t read any of the books and actually didn’t take much of an interest in the films until last year or so. In any case, here is my list;

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s (Philosopher’s) Stone (2001)

I had promised my friend Emily that I would go and see the movie with her, although I was largely unfamiliar with the Harry Potter craze (outside of knowing there was one). It was definitely an enjoyable film, although I didn’t see it again until a few months ago.

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (2002)

I saw this one on a cold winter night with my then-girlfriend in Westfield. She was very scared of spiders, so she was definitely a bit clingy during the part where we met Hagred’s old “pet” in the woods. I was also afraid that Dobby was going to become the new Jar Jar Binks, and while his inclusion in the plot didn’t exactly wow me, I’m glad that he didn’t cause the film to suffer. Once again, I enjoyed the film but didn’t see it again until years later.

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (2004)

I didn’t see this one in the theaters at all; I think by this time I just didn’t get what all the fuss was about, so my little “protest” was not going. I definitely should have. I finally saw the 3rd film on DVD about a year ago and it quickly became my favorite (possibly tied with the 5th film), probably because the characters had become more mature and the series started to take on a bit of a darker tone (plus I’m a sucker for hippogriffs).

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (2005)

For some reason I thought this came out last summer, but that’s the fault of my memory more than anything else. In any case, I saw it at my favorite movie theater with the woman who would become my wife the following summer. Definitely a lot of fun, although I have to say I liked the previous film better.

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (2007)

I saw this one just the other night at my favorite movie theater with my wife and a friend and absolutely loved it. While Rotten Tomatoes shows a bit of a ratings slip, I felt the movie was strong overall, especially in the casting of new characters (I really, really hated Umbridge, even though she was fictitious). I’m definitely looking forward to seeing some of story lines surrounding new characters in the next film (especially Tonks and Luna Lovegood), but I’ll have to wait until November of next year for that.

So there it is; not especially exciting, but the series has definitely begun to grow on me as it hurtles towards its conclusion (which I’m sure I’ll hear all about by the end of the weekend). I would highly recommend the new film to anyone who’s not sure what they should see at the cinema this weekend. After I saw the latest film, I said to my wife that I wished that I had some sort of magic powers or could go on great adventures, to which she replied that I had near-magic powers of paleontology. That being said, I have yet to create any sort of diving rod to find articulated skeletons or anything of that sort, so I will do the best I can as a muggle.


Actions

Information

One response

14 07 2007
Utenzi

Interesting review. I think the third film was my favorite also but I only vaguely remember them. I do know I didn’t like the first two. I’ve read all the books so far–and have the last one on order–but I’m not a rabid fan. The books are for kids, and have very “kiddie” writing elements in them. I wonder about adults that get obsessive over them…

Leave a Reply

