More books?!

27 06 2007

As if I didn’t have enough to read already, I’ve added a few more books to my planned reading for the summer. I finished Lilian McLaughlin Brown’s Bring ’em Back Petrified last night, so I’ll hopefully be able to jump right into whatever arrives in the mail today when I get home from work. Anyway, here’s what’s been added;

The Tempo and Mode of Evolution by George Gaylord Simpson (1984 paperback)

I’ve been meaning to read this book for quite some some, but until now I had been unable to find an affordable copy. I certainly can’t wait to dig into it.

How Animals Work by Knut Schmidt-Nielsen

I know a bit about skeletal anatomy, but I have to admit that my understanding of physiology and biomechanics is pretty poor. I’m hoping Schmidt-Nielsen’s book will help to fix that.

Walker’s Mammals of the World (2 Volumes) by Ronald M. Nowak

I first happened across Walker’s Mammals of the World while petsitting for the late Dr. Ted Stiles, and I knew that my library would be pretty poor without a copy. While I plan on accumulating other books detailing mammals of the Neotropics and Africa, it will be great to have a set of books that I can use to further the number of taxa I’m familiar with.

Historical Geology: Evolution of Earth and Life Through Time by Reed Wicander and James S. Monroe

In the fall of last year I took a course called Evolution in Geologic Time, and while I’m pretty familiar with big-time evolutionary events, I could do a lot better remembering exactly when they happened. Likewise, my understanding of evolution is focused primarily around tetrapods, the majority of earth’s history prior to the Cambrian still a bit foggy upon recall, so I definitely want to help my understanding of what happened in “Deep Time” a bit more.

God’s Own Scientists: Creationists in a Secular World by Christopher P. Toumey

I haven’t yet read Ronald Numbers’ The Creationists, but I saw this book mentioned on a comment thread over at Respectful Insolence and it sounded very interesting. I’ve become relatively well-familiar with changes and shifts in creationist thought over the past few hundred years, but I definitely want to get a better idea of what goes on behind closed doors when “creation scientists” get together.

The Theory of Island Biogeography by Robert H. MacArthur and Edward O. Wilson

After a tip from Bora that Quammen’s Song of the Dodo has a fair number of mistakes, I thought I would pick up what is considered to be the landmark work in the field of biogeography. I plan to read the two books in succession and write up a post on the subject, but that’s probably a few weeks (if not a month) away.

The way I go through books, a few more will likely be added before all is said and done, but for now I think I’ve got my work cut out for me.


Actions

Information

5 responses

27 06 2007
Bora Zivkovic

Knut Schmidt-Nielsen is one of my scientific idols (check his obituary on my blog earlier this year). How Animals Work is great, but also check out his “Scaling” and his autobiography “The Camel’s Nose”.

27 06 2007
laelaps

Thanks for the tip! I actually was planning to check out “Scaling” and other related books next, and I hope by the end of the summer I will be more well-versed in the workings of animals (I don’t want to end up being just a stamp-collector).

27 06 2007
MIchael Barton

I’d be impressed if you got through Song of the Dodo in a few weeks! That’s a lengthy read….

27 06 2007
laelaps

Well, I hope to get through it relatively quickly. I live a relatively boring home life, so I usually devote at least 4 hours every night to reading. I read The Dechronization of Sam Magruder in its entirety tonight, and I’m now 1/6 of the way through A Primate’s Memoir (which I hope to finish tomorrow), so even if a book is rather lengthy I don’t usually need more than a week to polish it off. The advantage I have this year is that I’m petsitting for weeks at a time, so I usually bring a armload of books and just read until I’m too tired to carry on. Just so long as it’s not as lengthy as Gould’s 2000 + page Structure of Evolutionary Theory; there’s only so much I can digest at one time.

29 09 2011
http://www.legerherve.org{sale herve leger}

who is the girl in 1:42?

Leave a Reply

