What I’ll be doing Friday nights

12 05 2007

Provided that I don’t have a conflict with summer classes (providing, of course, I can pay for them) I now have a new Friday-night activity; volunteering with my wife at the Mercer County Wildlife Center. I don’t have my rabies shots so I won’t be working with racoons, skunks, bats, or foxes, but there are plenty of little critters that have been injured and need some help. I have to be honest and say that it’s not all out of a desire to feed baby birds; I need to get some hands-on experience with wildlife if I’m ever going to end up being a good zoologist. I didn’t do much yesterday, given my general lack of experience, but it was interesting feeding the baby birds. I wasn’t really sure what to do and I didn’t want to hurt them, but they were more than eager to open wide and have me stick a tube down their throat to get fed. In fact, the bigger challenge was making sure each got their meal as all of them kept jostling each other about in an attempt to get a little extra.

My wife and I also got to meet an old bald eagle named George, and it was simply amazing to be only a few feet away from such a large and magnificent bird, not seperated by a cage or other barriers. Hopefully I’ll eventually have some photos to share, but until then I’m sure I’ll have lots to share after I get back Friday evenings during the summer.


Actions

Information

One response

12 03 2012
Elliott Bushman

Thanks for the good writeup. It actually used to be a leisure account it. Look complex to more added agreeable from you! By the way, how could we communicate?

Leave a Reply

