New William Stout Art!

7 05 2007

I thought the artwork on the cover of Alien Pig Farm 3000 #1 looked familiar; it’s another wonderful work of art from William Stout. His renditions of dinosaurs are among my favorites (it’s hard to pick just one, but I absolutely love his rendition of the tyrannosaur Alioramus eating a crocodile outside of the Dinosaur ride at Disney’s Animal Kingdom park), and if you’re not as yet familiar with his stuff I would suggest picking up a copy of The New Dinosaurs.


Actions

Information

2 responses

8 05 2007
Carel

Thanks for the post. Bill Stout is a wonderful and versatile artist. I first became aware of him back in the ’70s with his illustrations for Firesign Theater, and didn’t know of his skills as a biological illustrator until many years later.

8 05 2007
laelaps

Thanks for the comment Carel! For my own part, I first become familiar with Stout’s artwork via Eric Boardman/Gary Owens dinosaur documentaries, and later through a few dino magazines I had lying around. I suppose I always was drawn to his art because he drew dinosaurs like I imagined them in my mind, especially when I was little and they were just as much monsters as objects of scientific curiosity.

Leave a Reply

