Earth Day Bronx Zoo Photos

2 05 2007

I know these are a bit belated, but here’s a few of the better photos from my last trip to the Bronx Zoo a few weekends ago. First up, two playing grizzly bears;

Bears

The zoo’s binturong (aka “Bear Cat” despite belonging to Family Viverridae) was up and about for once;

Binturong

I also managed to get a half-decent shot of this boat-billed heron, as when I saw them at the national zoo they had their bills tucked into their feathers and were facing away.

Boat

The aquatic bird house also features some stern-looking kookaburras;

Kookaburra

and this tern, angry at a black oystercatcher being kept in the same exhibit;

Tern

The male peacocks were strutting about and causing a ruckus;

Peafowl

while the toucans were a bit more subdued;

Toucans

As far as mammals go, the “Tiger Mountain” exhibit was absolutely packed but I did manage to get this shot of Zeff cooling off in a stream;

Zeff

although the black leopards of “Jungle World” were fast asleep, as ever;

Leopard

The Red River Hogs were much more active;

Red River Hog

as were the wild dogs (although this one was getting ready to take a nap);

Wild Dog

Finally, there was another bunch of baby gorillas romping around with their parents this year, although some mothers didn’t seem as enthralled by the youngsters as the human onlookers;

Gorillas


Actions

Information

10 responses

2 05 2007
Chris Harrison

Awesome. I think in every one of your picture posts, I find something I’ve never even heard of before. This time it was the binturong.

2 05 2007
laelaps

Thanks Chris! I remember seeing them featured on shows by Jack Hanna quite a few times, always with the comment “They smell like popcorn.” Sure enough, whenever I pas by the exhibit at the Bronx Zoo there’s a vaguely stale-popcorn type scent in the air, although I have yet to determine if it’s closer to buttered or un-buttered popcorn we’re talking about here.

I really wanted to get a good shot of the Malay Tree Shrew, but the little blighters are just so damn fast! That speaks to why my pictures are always a little dark; I have to change the contrast in dark enclosures to get the shutter to fire faster and prevent blurring, but I suppose if I actually read my camera’s manual I could find another way to fix this.

Anyway, most people at the zoo didn’t seem to know what a binturong was either, so maybe I’ll do a post all about it in the near future.

3 05 2007
luca

excellent pictures! and comments😉

21 10 2007
qwynn

i like to play check boar

12 04 2008
Brittany

this is cool i have a baby one!

12 04 2008
Gorege Lopez

he wats up i am Gorge Lopez i am famus

6 08 2008
kellie

animals rule

3 05 2009
merewyn

Incredible pictures! Color – composition – beautiful work!
They appear to be taken in the wild as opposed to a zoo. I hope you continue your photography even after you achieve your degree.

9 10 2014
Maryellen

I read a lot of interesting articles here. Probably you spend a lot of time writing, i know how
to save you a lot of work, there is an online tool that
creates readable, SEO friendly articles in seconds, just search
in google – rewriter creates an unique article in a minute

7 01 2015
weight loss

Great content you post on your blog, i have shared this article on my facebook

Leave a Reply

