Deer, cats, and scat; Friday Photoblogging

13 04 2007

It’s Friday, so why not have some fun to round out the week? I haven’t gone to any zoos or museums since February, so I don’t have much in the way of neat animals to show you (but just you wait; I’m visiting the National Zoo tomorrow) but I have a few more “common” specimens to share.

This is my little cat Charlotte; she was the runt of her little but she’s a little ball of affection (and trouble) that likes to sleep upside-down and doing an impression of Superman, at least she was when I woke her up by taking this picture.

kitty

Charlotte also likes to sit in the windowsill and yip and yowl at the birds in the tree outside, and when she gets angry she attacks the blinds (there are lots of little holes from needle canines in the bottom ones).

kitty

Chase is the other cat around here, adopted from friends of ours, and he likes to remind me that it’s my duty to share my ice cream with him whenever I’m enjoying some.

chase share

While petsitting a few weeks ago, I walked along a deer path through some brush and came across these bones. I assume they’re leg bones from a small deer, but I couldn’t find anything else except these partially buried pieces.

bones

Associated with the bones I also found what appeared to be scat at first, but upon pulling the lumps apart I found them to be made up entirely of hair, all that was left of what I assume to be shrews and small rodents. It’s likely that whatever buried the bones also left these, possibly a coyote.

hair

What led me out into the woods in the first place was a small group of deer (with at least one fawn) moving through the backyard. I was able to get reasonably close, although my camera didn’t have enough zoom as I would like and the thick brush made it hard to get a clear shot. Anyway, here’s one of the deer that’s awfully wary of the biped moving awkwardly through the bushes.

deer

That’s all for today, but check back on Sunday or Mondy; I’ll likely have a slew of photos from my trip to Washington, D.C. tomorrow.


Actions

Information

4 responses

14 04 2007
TheBrummell

I have yet to employ my 400 mm telephoto (no zoom; fixed magnification) on any deer. I hope to this summer. That’s a very nice picture.

16 04 2007
laelaps

Thanks for the compliment Martin; I hope to get some pictures of local foxes and coyotes this summer (although photographing them at night will likely prove difficult). I didn’t really get serious about photography until about this time last year when I bought an Olympus E-300 (with lends) for about 300 dollars, although I bought a 40-150mm lens that I do most of my photography with now. Hopefully I’ll be able to get a more powerful lens in the near future, but since my camera is 8 megapixels I can crop most pictures and still retain good resolution (in fact that’s what I did with the picture of the deer).

19 06 2008
Alex

The last picture is great!

14 05 2011
Landon Warga

Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a very well written article. I’ll be sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful information. Thanks for the post. I will certainly return.

Leave a Reply

