Dane Cook on condescending atheism

6 02 2007

Back when I was an agnostic, I used to hate it when I would get stopped on the street by evangelicals and asked “Where do you think you’re going to go when you die?” During the week preceding Easter, I had one such fellow that wanted to pray for me so that if I stepped off the curb and got hit by a bus, I’d be absolved (unless I was crossing the street to do something bad, of course). As much as I couldn’t stand this, atheists can be just as bad as evangelicals in such matters (just have a look at Richard Dawkins), especially with the crowd that sees any attempt to find common ground with the faithful as appeasement (often called being a “Neville Chamberlain Atheist”, which belies a misunderstanding of history). In any case, although I don’t see Focus on the Family becoming friends with Dane Cook anytime soon, I did find his stand up on the issue of dealing with a condescending atheist quite funny. Enjoy!


Actions

Information

One response

16 12 2010
Wiley Willmott

You made some decent points there. I looked on the internet for the subject matter and found most guys will approve with your site.

Leave a Reply

