Movin’ on up…

18 12 2006

Hello everyone! I’ve only been on WordPress for about 20 minutes now and already I am impressed with the quality of this website. It certainly beats my old xanga and progressiveu accounts by a mile. Speaking of which, for those of you that have followed me over from my blog under the name Evolutiongeek, thank you for your continued support and readership (unless you’re a troll, in which case you can kindly go back to your bridge and await the arrival of the Three Billy Goats Gruff).

In any event, I’m just another late-comer to the blogging phenomenon, but I do hope to bring something new to the table and not merely parrot Pharyngula or the Panda’s Thumb in every post. There are a wide variety of topics that interest or infuriate me (sometimes both), so if nothing else I hope to enter into a dialog with others via this website that will benefit everyone who might stumble upon it.

As for the name, well, I couldn’t think of anything incredibly witty or interesting so I picked one of the defunct names for Dryptosaurus, a relative of Tyrannosaurus rex known from a fragmentary skeleton that once lived in my own state of New Jersey. Geeky as such a choice may be, I decided Laelaps as it was a dog in Greek mythology that always caught its quarry. Ultimately, the Laelaps was turned to stone by Zeus when sent to hunt a fox that could never be caught, the god ending a chase that would have surely gone on until death. Why choose such an unfortunate canine as my pseudonym? I am utterly enthralled with the natural world, always wanting to know more about how life came to be as it is today, but there are always more questions than answers, condemning me to forever quest after more knowledge until I too ultimately am turned into the elements that make up my body. This isn’t a curse, but a passion that I hope to carry for the rest of my life.

So, welcome friend. If nothing else I hope my musing are of mild interest and that they may plant the seeds of later realizations and insights in the minds of others. What else can a man like me aspire to?

“But now ask the beasts, and let them teach you; And the birds of the heavens, and let them tell you. Or speak to the earth, and let it teach you; And let the fish of the sea declare to you.” – Job 12:7-8


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

